by scorpions-tale

Oncie woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t get back to sleep again, although trying to squirm his way out of Greedler’s grasp would be more trouble that it was worth. Greedler insisting on sleeping in his suit all the time was awkward, but sleeping nearly naked took the prize in that department. It wasn’t that he didn’t like it; on the contrary, every little movement just reminded him Greedler’s touch, made him ache for it. Every warm exhale of breath against his neck, those soft gloves against his bare chest…he was both so terrified and allured by this person all at once, part of him wanted to run away and part of him wanted never to leave.

But the thought that bothered him the most was that it might not be up to him anymore. His other self defied the laws of physics for another chance at getting what he wanted. If Oncie fit into the ‘wanted’ category now, would running away be good for anything or would his other self simply follow him in an obsessive pursuit to the ends of the Earth?

Oh, oh god that was hot –

Wait, no it wasn’t –

But while he could argue with himself emotionally all day long, physically his body couldn’t hide the feelings stirring inside of him. He felt himself stiffen again, holding his breath to avoid making any noise and waking Greedler. He’d just have to leave it and wait until he calmed down.

Unfortunately, calming down was the last thing he was doing. Now that he was undeniably aroused, the sleeping Greedler clinging to him was all that consumed his thoughts, agitated his throbbing member even further, making him squirm in Greedler’s grip.

He’d be more of a disturbance like this, he figured, than if he just got himself off as quietly as he could. It’d tire him out a little, too, and he could fall back asleep. He slowly reached down and gripped his own cock, and though it took all his mental fortitude to do it he managed not to move beyond a shudder. After having Greedler’s hands all over him, doing it on his own paled in comparison.

He tried to think of something, anything other than Greedler while he was doing it but every thought he had turned back to him or something he had said. He liked it, the power that Greedler was promising him. It didn’t mean he had to turn out exactly like that, right? You could have power and not be a…a bad person. WasGreedler even a bad person? Sometimes there was no doubt in Oncie’s mind that he was, but sometimes Oncie convinced himself that Greedler was just hurt and stressed and needed something to be happy about again.

During those times, Oncie was surprised at how much he wanted to make him happy. It would be an accomplishment, a mark of true success, and…and maybe there was some sort of emotional component there, but Oncie couldn’t really figure out how to describe what he was feeling towards someone who was just a different version of him. Was it narcissism? Was he a narcissist? No, they were separate, too, so he wasn’t fantasizing about himself as he currently was.

Normally, no one had to deal with this. What kind of a dilemma was that? What was he going to do, see a therapist about it? ‘Yeah, doc, I have a weird sexual and possibly emotional attraction to myself from the future and I’m not sure what to do about it, what do you suggest?’ That’d go over really well for someone who was going to be the face of a powerful corporation. Don’t buy a Thneed, everybody, that guy’s crazy!

Maybe he was crazy. Maybe this was all just inside of his head, but it all felt soreal and, no, Chet had taunted him about the bruise Greedler’s fingers left on his wrist, saying that he couldn’t even pluck fluff from a tree without falling down and hurting himself. That, at least, was real. Greedler must be real. Real, and powerful, and an asshole, and dominant, and inconsiderate, and…

“What are you doing?” Greedler said.

Shit, absorbed in his own thoughts, Oncie had forgotten that his goal here was to be subtle and quiet as to not wake Greedler up.

In truth, Greedler had been awake for about five minutes longer than Oncie and didn’t really care that they were both awake until Oncie started getting himself off. Then, he just thought he’d watch for a bit and wait for the perfect moment.

“O-oh, nothing, thing,” Oncie said.

“Yeah, sure, nothing at all,” Greedler said with a grin, “Just couldn’t wait until I was awake to get some more, hm?”

“No, that’s not it, I just…woke up like that is all, and I couldn’t get back to sleep until I dealt with it,” Oncie said.

“You’re a terrible liar,” Greedler said, “I bet if I turned the light on right now your face would be red as a beet.”

“Well, yeah, because I didn’t mean to wake you up, and it’d kind of embarrassing to be caught in the middle of, you know,” Oncie said.

“Oh, come on, as if I haven’t been looking at your dick every time I’ve undressed myself for my entire life,” Greedler said, “There aren’t any surprises down there. And even if there were, well, we had such a good time last evening I don’t think I could forget it.”

Oncie shuddered at the mention of the previous evening’s antics, somehow having still believed that even if this whole thing weren’t a dream, surely that part, that one part must have been.

“So,” Greedler said, tracing one of his fingers around Oncie’s left nipple, “What exactly were you dreaming about to cause that, then?”

“I…don’t remember,” Oncie said.

“Well, it happens, it happens,” Greedler said, just playing along with the lie, knowing that Oncie was growing tenser by the moment, “But surely you must’ve been thinking about something while you were doing the dirty deed, hm?”

“I was mostly just tired, I wanted to get it over with and get back to sleep,” Oncie said.

“Oh, come on, you can tell me. Is there a special someone back home you’ve been daydreaming about?” Greedler said, when he knew damn well that Oncie in this stage of his life had no special someone to be thinking about.

“…Maybe,” Oncie said.

“Would you like me to finish that off for you?” Greedler said, fingers trailing dangerously close to Oncie’s crotch.

“Yes!” Oncie said, without even thinking, nearly involuntarily as Greedler’s fingers caressed him.

“Ha! I knew it. You were thinking about me,” Greedler said.

“Okay, maybe a little,” Oncie said.

“Well, that was worth waking up for,” Greedler said, “Now finish yourself off.”

“But you said you’d…” Oncie trailed off.

“No, I asked you if you wanted me to, I didn’t say I’d do it,” Greedler said, “Rule number one of being successful: never give more than you take. For me, that applies to everyone. For you, you’ll have to settle for applying that to everyone except me. But having only one person above you isn’t such a bad place to be in, is it?”

“Would you let yourself have one person above you?” Oncie asked.

Never,” Greedler hissed, “Don’t push your luck, Oncie.”

Figuring that he had caused offence, Oncie went on by himself until he finished, which, with the added stimulation Greedler had given him, didn’t take very long at all. He lay quietly for a few seconds, noticing that Greedler’s breathing was still tense and not settled back into the calm, sleeping rhythm.

“…Are you still awake?” Oncie said.

“I am now,” Greedler lied.

“You’re a terrible liar,” Oncie said, with a slight laugh.

Greedler just growled.

“S-sorry,” Oncie said, “Anyways, if you’re not too tired, can we talk about something?”

Greedler thought about that for a moment. He wasn’t very tired, and if he put it off now he’d probably just have to talk in the morning, and he wasn’t really a morning person. “Yeah, fine. What is it?”

“I’ve just…I’ve been thinking. About us,” Oncie said.

“I know,” Greedler said, “We’ve just been over that.”

“No, I mean us like…us on, an emotional level. On a relationship level, I mean,” Oncie said, “What is our relationship?”

Greedler was fully alert now. This was a conversation that he most definitely did not want to have. Sexually, he was nothing but confident, but he himself had such an aversion to the emotional impact of anything that he’d forgotten his younger self didn’t. He had to keep his guard up now, and avert this conversation.

“We’re business partners,” Greedler said, “We help each other out. You help me, I help you. You more than me, of course.”

“I know that,” Oncie said, “I’m not talking about the business or the factory or your advice or anything like that. I’m talking about us, right now, like we are here. You don’t always have to be close to me like this.”

God dammit. Oncie had brought up the one thing that Greedler didn’t even want to admit to himself: he was lonely, he liked being close to someone, and even if he was still dominant within the relationship that longing he had still made him feel vulnerable. He didn’t like feeling vulnerable, not with anyone, not ever.

“You’re warm, I like it, I like touching you, I like fucking,” Greedler said, “There, are you happy?”

“Oh,” Oncie said, disappointed, “Is there anything else?”

“No,” Greedler said, turning away so that his back was up against Oncie’s instead of his chest.

Oncie didn’t reply and Greedler thought he was in the clear, when Oncie, after a great deal of debating whether or not to admit it, blurted out “I think I care about you.”

Greedler’s back arched like a threatened cat and he clenched his teeth so hard he could’ve bitten his own tongue off if it was in the way.

“Good for you,” he said, “Go to sleep.”

“Do…do you care about me?” Oncie said.

“No,” Greedler said, defensively, “No I don’t.”

“Then what was all that about, then? You said you were my friend, you said you wanted to help me out,” Oncie said, sitting up, flustered and agitated.

“Business, kid, get used to it,” Greedler said.

“I can’t believe you! I tell you that upsets me, I tell you to cut out the fake affectionate bullshit if you don’t really mean it, and you just keep doing it and doing it and doing it anyways,” said Oncie, a look of dismay crossing his face, “You really don’t care about me, do you?”

“No, I don’t,” Greedler said, “I thought I made that pretty fucking clear.

“No, you didn’t, you really didn’t,” Oncie said, getting up and turning the lights on and grabbing his pajamas, “I’m going to go. Mom’ll let me sleep on the couch.”

“Oh, really, you’d rather be with them than with me?” Greedler said, sighing, “You know you’ll be woken up by Brett and Chet flipping the couch over.”

“Yeah, yeah I’d prefer that,” Oncie said, “At least they never got my hopes up that they wouldn’t.”

“What are you do upset about, dammit?” Greedler said, sitting up to face Oncie, his teeth bared, “Do you know how long I’ve had to be alone for? I know how long you’ve been alone for already and you’ve never…my god, are you going to start crying?”

“N-no,” Oncie said, rubbing at his eyes, “It’s just…you’re me, you’re me and even you don’t want to be my friend, whatever I am right now you’ve obviously decided somewhere along the line that I’m not worth caring about, and you’re me, how am I supposed to feel like anything but a failure?”

“Deal with it!” Greedler yelled, “You’re not the only on who’s ever felt like a failure! You’ve made mistake, you would’ve made more mistakes without me! That’s why I’m here! I’ve made mistakes, I’ve learned from them, you’ll never have to learn like I did and you’re here about to cry your eyes out because I don’t want to make friendship bracelets with you? You’re pathetic!”

Oncie clenched his fist, determined to hold his tears back in now that he was being confronted like this, “Well, you know what? Yeah, you’re here, yeah, you’re helping me, but do you know why I’m listening to you? Do you know why I’m keeping you around, why I’ll continue to keep you around, even though you’re a total bastard?”

“Because you can’t bear the thought of failure?” Greedler said, “Because you want to succeed and you need me to do it, whether you like it or not?”

“No,” Oncie said, slipping into his pajamas and opening the door, “It’s because if I don’t make your mistakes, there’s a chance I might not end up being you, and that’s worth all the bullshit you can shovel on me. Good night.”

Before Greedler could retaliate, Oncie slammed the door and left.

Greedler stomped around, making a big display of how agitated he was, but he knew Oncie couldn’t hear. Not way over there, and certainly not over the sound of Aunt Grizelda’s wall-piercing snoring (another thing Oncie would rather put up with than him, Greedler couldn’t help but think to himself). He felt like a child throwing a tantrum now, and he hated it. He was in charge, he was in control. This is exactly what he wanted, this was what he was going for, right? He didn’t want to put up with any of that stupid emotional stuff, not when there was business to be done.

And yet, he didn’t feel happy, and as much as he tried to convince himself that it was because Oncie talked back to him and couldn’t stay in his rightful place, that wasn’t what really bothered him. It made him angry, yes, but…

As long as he’d spent considering himself a failure in his own timeline, being ashamed of his mistakes, beating himself up over them and convincing himself that he hated the person he used to be, hated this past version of himself for being so naïve and screwing everything up, that version of himself was still able to look up at him (him, the failure, the one who’d made mistakes) and say ‘I care about you’.

And Greedler had ruined that.

He laid back down on the bed, clutching Oncie’s pillow, the pillow he’d ripped apart a few nights ago. He didn’t know what he could say now, or what he’d do in the morning.

He couldn’t confront the possibility that he’d made another mistake.